Does Color Change Perception?


Lets begin with my original drawing. Soak it in. What do you see? Really look at it. I was drawing this with one thing in mind but the more I looked at it, the more I decided that it had become something else altogether.

I had created something that was adaptable. In order to portray exactly what I wanted it to be, I knew I had to add color. Now I am usually very apprehensive about adding color because I don’t want to convince the viewer what the art is or about. I want my art to always reach into the heart and experiences of the viewer to help me see what they do.

So, The first thing I did, was see something underwater. Something beautiful. I saw life, birth, and happiness. I pulled out my color pencils and started. Jellyfish, Coral and waves in the back ground to fully capture the beauty and life underwater.

FB_IMG_1492184355480

But as I was coloring this, I had set it aside to make dinner, as I have been known to do, and it was turned in a way that my emotional attachment had changed. I now saw destruction, fire and conflict. What had changed my mind? To capture this, I decided to make a copy of the original to color this in yet another way. I pulled out my color pencils and viciously started drawing the harsh lines and the difference in the two blew me away.

FB_IMG_1492184359991

What once was life and beauty, had turned to death and destruction. So I pose this question to you, my viewers, What do you see? I would love to see what you come up with. Tell me in the comments below, and don’t be afraid to look at the world differently than someone else.

2 Comments

I would love to know how this post made you feel! Please tell me below!

